Motivational Monday (It’s Going Up on a Tuesday)

This time of year always gets me thinking about a couple of quotes that have served as guiding principles in my life over time.

  1. Everything happens for a reason
  2. It will all work out in the end; if it doesn’t work out, it’s not the end.
  3. If it doesn’t open, it’s not your door.

I am not sure who initially shared these quotes with me or who is credited with saying them but they have stuck in my head through sports tryouts, heartbreak, college applications, collegiate athletics, and of course job searches.  In our profession, this time of year is the time of year that hiring goes into hyper speed.  Many positions open up or are posted around now, and Graduate Assistantships are posted around this time as well.  As I continue to see job after job and GA after GA posted I cannot help but remember my own search process looking for my first job after graduate school.  Between February and June, I completed 12 applications, had 10 phone interviews, 6 on campus interviews in 6 different states, and one on site 3rd round group interview for a state job.  With each interview and each round, I became more hopeful.  With each call of rejection, a little less.  Some rejections were harder than others, those who know me well know exactly what I am talking about.  But each time, I had a little voice inside my head – and some bigger voices surrounding me at work and home – telling me that “Everything happens for a reason,”  “It will all work out in the end, if it doesn’t it isn’t the end,” and “If it doesn’t open, it’s not your door.”  So at this time of year, if you are searching for a new position, searching for graduate assistantships, or applying for school try to keep these principles in mind.   You will find the opportunity that is the best match for you.

By: Caitlin

“Be Silly. Be Honest. Be Kind.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

By: Richelle

To say the last couple of weeks have been a whirlwind would be the understatement of 2017. I started 2017 by getting engaged (YAY!!!), the university quarter started three days later, and group swim lessons started 5 days after that. Kindness, advice, aggravated patrons, and huge amounts of planning in my personal and professional life have overwhelmed me in the recent weeks. My typical response to stress is to go off the grid and sleep. I told my fiancée that things are going to calm down (jokes), or I am going to learn to cope better. This quote resonated with me as I try to learn to cope with stress better and continue to be my authentic self.

  1. Be Silly: Embrace who you are. Take the time to know yourself and surround yourself with people that appreciate who you are and let you be weird. The more comfortable you are with yourself the more authentic you are able to be, the more genuine interactions you are able to have and the better quantity of work you are able to achieve.
  2. Be Honest: Be honest with yourself and be honest with those around you. Are you overwhelmed? Do you need help? Do you need a mental health day? Do you need to eat frozen yogurt three nights in a row? Instead of shutting down, let others know that you need a minute. It is also especially important, to be honest about needing help. Have you taken on one too many new projects? Are you lost with where to start? Ask for help. Folks will always respect you more for asking for help.
  3. Be Kind: It is crucial to remember that you do not know what others are going through. Many times your smile or interaction may be the only positive interaction that person has for the entire day. More often than not people do not remember what you have said, but they will always remember how you made them feel.
Leave a Reply

