Motivational Monday (It’s Going Up, on a Tuesday)

 

“The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion.” – Paul Coelho

After all the changes we have seen already in our country, on top of my firm belief that leading by example is one of the top characteristics of great leadership, this quote went up on my office whiteboard this week.

I am not on this blog to get political or share my views, so this is by no means a political post.  

In the roles we serve for work, to me, there is no truer statement than this.  We often get into discussions with well meaning students or other professionals who just need to be heard, often sharing their opinion and not always in the most professional way.  Since starting my current position, I have found many procedures within my program area that I feel need to be changed.  I have agreed with the opinions of many students on some of these things, I could sit in my office every day for a year sharing my opinion but how can I ever make an impact and lead changes if all I do is verbally tell people what I think needs to change?  

I have made it my goal to voice my opinion on changes, in order to be perfectly transparent with my students – an element necessary for building trust. And then to follow up, as quickly as possible to implement, or at least start the process of implementing, those changes.  

Yes your opinion matters almost all of the time, but it is more important to act on it in a way that will positively impact the world you work/live in.

Written By: Caitlin

“More no’s for better yes’s.”- Paul Wesselmann

This first time I heard this phrase was March of 2012. I was attending my first NIRSA Annual conference as a senior in college. I was lost, and had no idea what I was doing to be after graduation. My original plan of working in a museum or archives fell to pieces when I completed an internship in fall 2011 and realized that was not what I wanted to do. I had spent all of my time in college up to that point involved in multiple clubs, councils, and jobs. I was spread about as thin as you could be without some sort of major catastrophe occurring.

Enter NIRSA Annual Conference 2012. I had no idea what to expect at this conference and had signed up for a student leadership pre-conference workshop. At some point during his presentation, Paul Wesselmann uttered the phrase that would guide the rest of my life.  “More no’s for better yes’s.” Everything clicked and I understood for the first time that I had habitually over-committed and was not able to give my best to the activities I was involved with.

This is a time to really look at your priorities and your goals. Are your goals and priorities aligned? Are you moving toward a major goal? Do the activities you are involved in enrich your life or help you move in the direction you are going? When you are feeling overwhelmed and stretched too thin, think “What can I say no too?” The more you say no, the better your yes’s will be.

Written by: Richelle

 

Leave a Reply

