Motivation Monday – Bucket Lists

“You get in life what you have the courage to ask for.” – Oprah Winfrey

1) Get a Fitness Job-2

Last week, Richelle and I both wrote about the inspiration we drew from Ben Nemtin’s Opening Session Keynote at the NIRSA annual conference.  And although I think both of us have had information and tips surrounding Goal Setting hammered into our heads for a long time, the biggest take away seems to have been the idea of Announcing your goals.  Announcing those big ticket items on your “Bucket List.”  And although we both have personal Bucket Lists, we decided it would be fun to make Bucket Lists for our work.

I think I came into this field somewhat on a whim.  I worked in Recreation during undergrad as well as grad school and since I couldn’t decide where to take my career after I obtained my masters, and I absolutely loved working in Recreation, I decided to take my career down that path (not so easily laid out I might add).  Once I got started in my first professional job, I was somewhat complacent.  I knew I didn’t want to stay there forever, I knew I wanted to move back to the Pacific Northwest, and I knew that there would always be more to strive for than being a Coordinator.  Although I have always had a couple of things on my work bucket list, it has only grown since starting a new job.  And working with Richelle, we have developed a Bucket list of things that we want to accomplish while being in the same department.

The keynote address by Ben put a new perspective on goal setting for me.  In my experience, people can be scared to write down those big ticket goals.  But they don’t seem so daunting when they are framed in a Bucket List.  Writing them down is the first step!  Putting them out there for your network to see is the next step – and maybe a first step in someone pushing you to accomplish the things you strive for.

What’s on your career bucket list?

By: Caitlin

Caitlin and Richelle Work Bucket List

  1. Develop New All Staff Training
  2. Plan a State Student Workshop/meeting
  3. Develop mandatory personal/professional development program for student staff
  4. Get accepted to present at NIRSA NW
  5. Get accepted to present at NIRSA Annual 2018 Denver
  6. Plan and Host an AWESOME Regional Conference 2018 (co-host with UW!)

“Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” – Theodore Roosevelt

Richelle's Career Bucket List

After falling into campus recreation (like everyone else) I knew this was what I wanted to do and got going on it. I was two months out from graduating undergrad and made a game time decision that i was going to get a graduate assistantship NOW. The stars aligned and a week later I had a job offer, applied to grad school, and had roommates. In Texas. After years of fighting aquatics as a career I dove (pun intended) into the field and started crushing goals. I started small. Below is a list of my goals my first semester of grad school.

  1. Create a lifeguard schedule (Don’t get yelled at)
  2. Start to correct behaviors as they happen with staff (#stopPNWpassive)
  3. Not fish for my undergrad experiences (#notinPDXanymore)

I was/am lucky enough to have some amazing mentors that have dragged me kicking and screaming out of the woodwork and into leadership potions. I have had so many people over the last 6 years that have believed in me and voluntold me to be on committees, hold leadership positions, and help me realize my potential by blasting me out of my comfort zone. I have been able to check some items off my career bucket list, and I sure hope that I find more items to add.

It took finding something I am truly passionate about to help me realize that I want to do extraordinary things. Being open to change, growth, and development has served me well to believe in myself and my dreams. My only obstacle is myself.

By: Richelle

Leave a Reply

