Wisdom Wednesday: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

 

Wisdom Wednesday 4.26.17

When it rains it pours, right? While participating in a leadership cohort this week, there were several opportunities to coach/be coached which involved a lot of on the spot self-reflection and vulnerability. I am almost always of the flip-side of these conversations. It was an opportunity to examine the following:

  • What am I doing well?
  • What can I improve?
  • What have I tried?
  • Why have I tried these things?
  • Am I fully committed to the (x) project?
  • Why haven’t I tried certain things?
  • What do I need to succeed and feel supported?

Many times my staff are the ones coming to talk, to tell me a bit more about their back story, or to ask for help. These conversations take courage and guts. It is very courageous to open up about personal situations in an effort to create stronger relationships. This week has been an important reminder to allow me to be vulnerable and continue to create a safe space for others.

By: Richelle


Sometimes the most important conversations are the most difficult to engage in.- Jeanne Phillips

It’s plain and simple. Have the difficult conversations. If you are not comfortable having them, see if there is someone who is good at having them and find out if you can be an extra body in the room to see how they handle them. I personally struggled with this, and made it my goal before leaving my previous job to become better at it, I asked my boss for help and he had me in almost every difficult conversation he had that year. I am so grateful for that experience. It still isn’t easy, but it isn’t as hard anymore.

By: Caitlin

Leave a Reply

