Gratituesday (on a Wednesday)

Between closing out the academic year, starting summer programs, planning a wedding, and moving; life has been moving at faster than normal speed. “If your legs are moving faster than you can fall, you won’t fall”- Mat Fraser
This week we begin with an exercise in gratitude. It is too easy to be consumed with struggles and things you “have to do”. While watching “Daughters of Destiny”  this weekend and “Redefining Adversity” from the Chasing Excellence with Ben Bergeron series, I had a reset moment.  These combined with the overwhelming about of support and love shown on my wedding day reminded me to be grateful for the things in my life. With my recent marriage (best day ever) and a busy summer at work, I have a lot to be grateful for.
1. My husband
  • I am grateful for my husband’s support and patience as we grow together and I work to create lifelong habits of organization. (My pile of laundry will be folded soon!)
2. Family
  • I was so touched by the amount of family that flew across the country for our wedding. Growing up I always lived at least 300 miles from the nearest relative and for much of my life it was at least 2000 miles. It meant so much to me that so many of my aunts, uncles, and cousins were able to celebrate with us. I am grateful for the family I added on my wedding day. I now have four sisters and a brother as well as three moms and two dads!
3. Friends
  • Our wedding would not have been possible without the army of friends and family working tirelessly to make the whole day perfect. I am so grateful for the outpouring of support and love you showed us.
4. U-pick berry farms
  • U-Pick farms are an exercise in self-control. I am a very competitive person. If you give me a bucket, I will fill it. That is how I ended up with 16 lbs of blueberries and 8 pounds of raspberries. I can be too competitive with myself and it is not necessary for me to fill the bucket to win. Winning is blueberries for $2 per lb.
5. The opportunity to fail and grow at work
  • This year has been another opportunity to try, fail, and learn. Transitioning back to a public university with over double the staff I previous supervised has been a journey. I am so grateful for the support of my department and the normalization redefining of failing. This year has been a year of immense personal growth. Have an idea? Try it! Doesn’t work? Learn and try something new!

Thanks for reading and look for exciting new content coming up!

-Richelle

Leave a Reply

